With the festive season upon us and various parties and social gatherings starting to happen, it's easy to let your normal diet and training regime take a bit of a hit.
I am not saying this is a poor leang at all, it's near enough impossible not to let it happen to be honest. I'm certainly not going to be able to get to the gym as often as I'd like, or track my food as accurately as I normally would. After all, Christmas is a time to endelight and relax with your nearest and dearest.
That being said, there are a few approaches I'll be taking this year to 'limit the damage' to my progress so far, which I'm going to outline below. The main underlying principle though, is to avoid falling in to the 'all or noleang' intellectset. Someleang is better than noleang.
1. Don't say you won't eat the mince pie (or whatever delicious delicious festive food you love but know you probably shouldn't eat)
Relaxricting yourself from certain treats will make you unhappy basically. Revealing yourself you can't have someleang will just make you want it more, it's human nature, and it can lead to disinhibition (AKA the "f*** it" mentality), as in; "Well I've eaten the fortenderden pie now so f***it I may as well eat the other 3 plus some Christmas pudding and oh, it would be impolite not to have some Christmas cake too..."
Instead, make the conscious decision beforehand that whether you find yourself genuinely wanting to eat someleang, allow yourself to have it. That way you'll be in control of what you eat and you won't feel like you're depriving yourself. Remember, you don't have to be perfect, just better.
2. Be intellectful when eating, know when you're convinced and stop there
I'd discourage you from rationalising your potential over eating this Christmas with the "my diet starts 1st January, so I need to eat all I can before then" excuse. I've been there, done that - it genuinely does just set you up for failure.
Attempt to keep your portion sizes in check, whether you aren't certain what these should be, check out this handy guide. If you finish your meal and you're considering that moment helping, first wait 20 minutes and then ask yourself whether you genuinely want it - it takes your brain about this amount of time to register the feeling of being full.
Following on from that, you should aim to eat until you're convinced, not until you're so stuffed you can't move! Slow down - you should be endelighting every bite of food as much as the first bite. If you're not, then you could just be eating for the sake of it or out of habit of clearing your plate whether you are convinced or not.
3. Stay (reasonably) active
If you're too engaged for your normal workout regime, try excusing yourself from the festivities for 10 - 15 minutes to squeeze in a fast body weight workout which can be done anywhere. There's a wgap load of workouts you could do which require no equipment - just Google it. A small is better than noleang at all.
Go for a walk external about half an hour after finishing your Christmas dinner - even whether it's just a 15 minute brisk walk, studies have shown this can regulate your blood sugar as well as giving your digestive system a kick start. Also, the fresh air will perk you up and stop you from getting that sluggish food coma feeling that comes after a large meal.
Finally, and this will certainly be relevant to me this year, whether you can get to the gym, take advantage of the additional calories and smash a couple of solid weightlwhetherting sessions. The additional food will serve well as additional fuel to genuinely push yourself during your workout, and contribute to muscle recovery and growth. Victor winner... Christmas dinner!
~
P.s., whether you do have a huge blowout or an epic cheat meal/day/week (let's face it, it's probably going to happen to me) don't beat yourself up about it. It's been said to death, but just get straight back on track the following day - don't starve yourself, don't kill yourself at the gym doing guilt cardio, just appreciate what you've had and move onward and upwards.
Merry Christmas!
P.p.s. Don't be like deadlwhethert Santa, always wear a shirt and clip your bar.